Flying While Natural

I didn’t expect to write about black hair again today.  But I wanted to acknowledge the reluctance of my African-american sisters to embrace natural hair in light of a news item I just read this morning.  The New York Times recently ran a fascinating article by Joe Sharkey about black women with natural hair being singled out for public patdowns of their hair at airports by the Transportation Security Agency.  I must say, I traveled by plane over the summer and had no TSA-related problems “flying while natural.”   But if this is happening to others like me, it might have a chilling effect on black women who wish to travel via the maybe-not-so-friendly skies.  It might also help to reinforce the negative message that our own unprocessed hair is simply undesirable.   And that, my friends, is sad.

–RH

Photo:  Laura Adiele, a Seattle woman subjected to a TSA pat-down of her hair earlier this year.   Credit: KING/NBC.

Leave a Reply

